Just Plain Bossy

Split personalities and hybrid warcrafting

Time Warp

Do you play a Night Elf? How about a Draenai? I don’t play any forsaken, but now I’m curious about them as well. When was your character born? Did you survive the crash? Were you born after the crash? How old are they? Even if you don’t have an exact idea in years, what events predate them and what events did they witness, even if you personally didn’t play through them? Really how fast do Draenai age? And now that Night Elves are mortal, how fast do they age? (egads I never considered that before)

I’ve never played the warcraft games before the World of Warcraft MMO, so I have no first hand experience of those others historical battles. Maybe that is why I struggle with dating my characters.

And, even though I rolled my main at the begining of The Burning Crusade, time in the game is quite a difficult topic to grasp. The starting zone quests assume one time period, and then as you progress zone to zone, you can run into some difficulties, though the most obvious is Azeroth > Outlands > Northrend. I have some toons in Northrend right now raiding Icecrown Citadel, but my new tauren shaman’s quests seem to place me years in the past.

Do you have your own frustrations with the timeline? Do you have tips to deal with it? Do you just ignore it blissfully (that’s been my methodology up til now)?

Filed under: roleplaying, rp, , ,

2 Responses

  1. Nochecazador says:

    I ignore the timeline for now. Thankfully Cataclysm will fix things making everyone current again.

  2. jay says:

    It’s a question i have often grappled with. I see my alts as beings, who existed at the time various events were occurring. They essentially are not being molded by the action/events taking place around them.

    They are minor nobodies who are minding their own business? Make sense? It does to me.. only way i can ever level a new toon, without entirely going mad.

    At level cap they are powerful heroes who have reached the apex of their abilities. They are aware and part /parcel of the major problems then.

Leave a Reply

Raid Warning Druid Roundtabe

Raid Warning Druid Roundtable

Things to Know

I love books

Promise of the Wolves: A Novel.The Awakened Mage.The Summoner.The Way of Shadows.Tangled Webs.Hot Blooded.Dark Curse.Blood of the Demon.Orcs.Slave to Sensation.Blaze of Memory.Angels' Pawn [GH Prequel].Lover Mine.The Warded Man.Psych Major Syndrome.Warriors.River Marked.Play of Passion


Roxanne's favorite books »

RSS Blogs I’m Following

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
